SCOTT SCHERER, ESQ. CHAIR

KIM WALLIN, CPA, CMA, CFM VICE CHAIR



ROSS E. ARMSTRONG EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

SAM HARVEY PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICER

704 W. NYE LANE CARSON CITY, NEVADA 89703 (775) 684-5469

PRESS RELEASE

CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR OF THE ETHICS COMMISSION ELECTED

CARSON CITY, NEVADA (July 25, 2024) During the July 23, 2024 meeting of the Nevada Commission on Ethics, Scott Scherer, Esq. was elected as Chair of the Commission, and Kim Wallin, CPA, CMA, CFM was elected as Vice Chair of the Commission. Chair Scherer, who joined the Commission in November 2023, is a former member of the Gaming Control Board and has previously served on the Ethics Commission. Vice Chair Wallin, who has served on the Commission since June 2018, previously held the position of State Controller and served as Chair of the Commission for the past four years.

The Chair and Vice Chair of the Commission are elected each year at the first meeting of the fiscal year, as per <u>NAC 281A.150</u>.

The Legislative Commission recently appointed Michael E. Langton, Esq., and Governor Lombardo appointed Terry J. Reynolds to the Nevada Commission on Ethics. Commissioner Langton is an attorney specializing in employment litigation and union representation. Commissioner Reynolds is the former Director of the Nevada Department of Business and Industry and the current president of The Reynolds Company Consulting.

The Nevada Commission on Ethics is comprised of eight members. Four of the members are appointed by the Governor and four are appointed by the Legislative Commission. <u>NRS 281A.200</u> sets requirements for the appointment of Commissioners including the following requirements:

- No more than four members may be members of the same political party.
- No more than four members may be residents of the same county.
- Commissioners are prohibited from holding another public office.
- Commissioners are prohibited from being actively involved in the work of a political party or political campaign.
- Commissioners serve for four-year terms.

A full list of Commissioners and their terms can be found here.

The next Commission meeting will be held on Wednesday, August 21, 2024.

CONTACT

Sam Harvey Public Information Officer Contact: NCOE@ETHICS.NV.GOV